Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Converting a pond yacht to RC  (Read 4770 times)

john cutt

  • Guest
Converting a pond yacht to RC
« on: November 12, 2009, 09:25:41 PM »

Hi
I'm new to model boating having joined our local model engineers society in january. Since I've built four RC boats, a Ro-Ro, fishing boat, container ship and a work barge never wanting to go into model yachts. But having bought a pond yacht, I'm hooked.
I bought a German made free sailing Seifert Albatros from Float-a Boat in Melbourne Australia and was quitehappy with it free sailing. But got tried of chasing it up and down the local boating pond.
So taking the plunger I've coverted it to RC. A simple job of cutting out the deck under the cabin and installing a rudder servo, battery pack and receiver. And of course making sure everything is watertight.
I use a Futaba Attack 2channel RC unit which I interchange between the other boats.
So OK it doesn't have a sail servo but setting the sails to 45deg or thereabouts seems to work pretty well whatever the wnd direction.
Sails best under light to moderate wind conditions.
Works well and very pleased with the conversion. Very low cost way of getting into RC yachts.
John Cutt
Invercargill NZ
Logged

john cutt

  • Guest
Converting pond boat to RC
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2009, 01:15:01 AM »

Should have said the Albatros yacht is a Gunther Seifet model.
Logged

Greggy1964

  • Guest
Converting pond boat to RC
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2009, 05:16:47 PM »

Hi John,

Any chance of photos of the conversion and sailing?

Pond yachts are very absorbing aren't they? O0 {-)

 :-))
Logged

john cutt

  • Guest
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2009, 06:53:05 AM »

Being new this forum not sure how I'll go with pics, but I'll give it a go
Logged

Greggy1964

  • Guest
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2009, 12:05:50 PM »

Hello  John :-)

Try reading this thread if you just want to post a couple of photos.

http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=23.0

Or if your going to be a regular contributor like me you need to concider opening a photobucket account, its free and don't clog up the model boat mayhem forum server :-))

http://photobucket.com/ and its simple to set up.

The guys here were great in helping me out on this thread

http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=20675.0

Its a friendly and helpful bunch here so don't worry about asking what seem to you as dumb questions %)

Look forward to seeing some photos of your yacht :-)) any problems, just ask O0 :-))
Logged

john cutt

  • Guest
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2009, 07:20:41 PM »

I've got Vista operating system so I don't think I can download the XP Image Resizer that I need to reduce the size of my pics which are 2MB or larger.  Says it will only work with XP. Anyone got an answer?
Logged

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2009, 07:30:13 PM »

Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

john cutt

  • Guest
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2009, 07:55:55 PM »

Thank's for tip. I know I'm a bit "thick" when it comes to computers, but I've downloaded VSO, so now what? Can't find anything on my computer to indeicate ability to downsize pics.
Logged

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2009, 08:03:15 PM »

Try right clicking on a picture it should be on the box that opens.
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

john cutt

  • Guest
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2009, 09:43:06 PM »

Thanks for the advice. The first download apparently didn't complete. Tried again and it WORKS! So now try for the pics.
Logged

john cutt

  • Guest
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2009, 09:45:44 PM »

First pic Ok so her goes for the rest. Doesn't look as though I can send a video clip.
Logged

john cutt

  • Guest
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2009, 10:07:47 PM »

Had trouble sending this pic. Hope it doesn't post twice.
Final pic showing the cut away section of the deck underneath the cabin. The battery pack and receiver are wrapped in plastic bags to protect against any water. I've also packed the compartment with foam to soak up any water that might seep in. So far, even when the yacht heels over no water gets in. I had to put the rudder arm on top as the rudder stock runs through a piece of wood that supports the deck.
Logged

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: Converting a pond yacht to RC
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2009, 09:22:30 AM »

This might be better John
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk
Pages: [1]   Go Up