Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Speed controler  (Read 3854 times)

Gopher

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • Location: Mansfield, Notts
Speed controler
« on: December 22, 2012, 06:33:06 PM »

Merry Christmas to you all, could anyone tell me if a Tornado 50A Marine Electric Speed Controller is ok for a MFA torpedo 850 motor, I meant to get one of those off an auction site but left it to late, I contacted the seller but he never got back so I can only assune he had sold them all
Logged

Netleyned

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,985
  • Location: Meridian Line, Mouth of the Humber
    • cleethorpes mba
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2012, 06:45:56 PM »

What size model
What  size prop
The esc is ok for the motor.
Do you have the 850 looking
for a tornado or the other
way round?

Ned
Logged
Smooth seas never made skilful sailors
Up Spirits  Stand fast the Holy Ghost.
http://www.cleethorpesmba.co.uk/

chris gillespie

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 395
  • Location: Ayrshire
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2012, 07:22:43 PM »

great question, one that interests me highly
 
i have tornado 50 esc, planning to use it on tornado 800 or 850, 60mm prop, boat is 1200 x 280, high displacement. 12v maybe ..2 x 12v parallel
 
is the esc good for me also ?  :-)

Gopher

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • Location: Mansfield, Notts
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2012, 07:24:39 PM »

Sorry about that been at the Jim Beam again, the motor is a Torpedo 850, the boat is a 42" tug with about 8.5Kg of lead in the bottom, the prop is a 4 blade brass 60mm in diameter
Logged

Gopher

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • Location: Mansfield, Notts
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2012, 07:26:36 PM »

looking at buying both
 
Logged

john s 2

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,184
  • Location: Southend on Sea Essex
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2012, 08:30:11 PM »

Personally I would buy a 900 motor.On e bay for 12. The mfa motor is ok but there are better motors. The e bay motor is the same as the Graupner. As for speed controller well again its your choice. Its probably Chinese. They have an endearing habit of claiming more than they can deliver. Called chinese amps. How come the 50 amp esc has futuba connectors not rated at anywhere near 50 amp? About 20 actually.John.
Logged

Gopher

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • Location: Mansfield, Notts
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2012, 08:35:51 PM »

any chance you could send me a link to the one on ebay, the esc I am looking at is advertised on Howes models
Logged

Gopher

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • Location: Mansfield, Notts
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2012, 08:49:30 PM »

just had a look on ebay cheapest 900 motor I could find was 80 odd pounds
Logged

john s 2

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,184
  • Location: Southend on Sea Essex
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2012, 09:33:24 PM »

Please read on forum. Section dc motors brushed. Graupner 900 motors about 8 postings down. Still on sale. Sorry do not know how to cut and paste. John. 
Logged

Gopher

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • Location: Mansfield, Notts
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2012, 09:51:42 PM »

they are the ones I meant to get, usual thing thought I'll order them tomorrow and by the time I actually got around to doing it I was to late, I have looked at his items for sale none there I have also contacted him but got no reply so I can only assume he has none left, shame chesterfield is about a 30 min drive from me
Logged

Gopher

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • Location: Mansfield, Notts
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #10 on: December 22, 2012, 09:57:16 PM »

Just out of curiosity would a brushless setup do the job, if so what size motor would I need, it's all alien to me as I am very new to the hobby and I inherited my boats
Logged

john s 2

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,184
  • Location: Southend on Sea Essex
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2012, 10:23:50 PM »

If you get the time expired e bay listing up it does still allow you to ask a question.Also it lists his address. Try seding a message or write. You may still be able to buy direct. John.
Logged

tugboyben

  • Kirkleesmodelboatclub
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 695
  • WARRIOR TUG BOAT
  • Location: LIVERSEDGE
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #12 on: December 23, 2012, 07:29:28 AM »

Hi gopher
Is this the ESC you are looking for

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/R-C-RADIO-CONTROL-MODEL-BOAT-SPEED-CONTROLLER-WATERPROOF-50-AMP-SUPER-PRICE-/230739027271?pt=UK_ToysGames_RadioControlled_JN&hash=item35b91e2547

The 900motor's have not been relisted i have used a lot of them.
Great motor's i have put them in eldergarth tug's  i have two springer's with them in
This link take's you to them keep your eye out the seller will relist i hope. i won't to buy a few more

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/300511267976?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Regards Jason




Logged

triumphjon

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 790
  • Location: portsmouth , hampshire
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #13 on: December 23, 2012, 07:36:26 AM »

i would avoid the tornado speed controller like the plague , my mate (wokingkev) bought a pair of them for use with a pair of dark horse 900 motors , they were installed and expired before the boat left its building bench  in a puff of smoke . i think the 50 amp stated is a little exagerated ! mtroniks have quite a range of controllers .
Logged

inertia

  • Guest
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2012, 09:11:01 AM »

The 900 motors from this seller were the end of a batch which his main company purchased to manufacture golf trolleys. Grade A motors from this batch were purchased and resold by Marks Model Bits and ACTion, who had the last two trays. These cheaper motors were water-damaged, having been left in a leaky outbuilding, and were sold on E-Bay through his daughter's account.
I know that the particular model of trolley for which they were bought is no longer in production and so I very much doubt if there are any more left - damaged or pristine. With a minimum order quantity of 10,000 from Johnson, the motor manufacturers, I'd also doubt if such motors will be available at such a low price in the future. It looks like we're all going to have to wait until Graupner get some more of their Speed 900s next year.
As regards the speed controller in question, it seems that if you get one that works reliably then you're lucky. I certainly wouldn't use one with a Darke Horse 785!
DM
Logged

AL 1

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • Location: SOUTHEAST LONDON
Re: Speed controler
« Reply #15 on: December 23, 2012, 09:48:48 AM »

http://www.microgyros.com/index.html          try these
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up