Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   Go Down

Author Topic: The Art of Models Irene  (Read 53374 times)

hammer

• Full Mayhemer
The Art of Models Irene
« on: December 20, 2016, 03:12:33 pm »

If I paint a picture of a ketch I am an artist. But building a model I am a craftsman. This seems the general point of view. I suppose if just following a plan it could be so, but given that plan to different modellers they will produce different results. So I think ART as it is much easier to paint a picture than build a model.
I am posting in sail because my method of building the Irene of Bridgwater will continue here. I like to build subjects that mean something to me, in this case I was born in Bridgwater. In the past I have made Flying Foam topsail schooner & Crowpill steam collier  both registered in Bridgwater, Albatross a sailing trawler built Teignmouth where I have retired. Two paddle steamers Glen Usk as I sailed on her when 10 years old, the Duke of Devonshire, a frequent visitor to Teignmouth pier many moons ago. No plans available for any of the above.  Also 2 pilot cutters they don't count being from plans.
Back to Irene she still exist having had Bridgewater added to her original name, much altered from original.  Launched in 1907 is how I want to portray her delivering bricks & tiles, bringing back coal, her main occupation.
 To start trawl the internet, visit Bridgwater Museum, library & any where I can think of may contain information. Lloyds of London but not this time as I have dimensions as she still exist, but will visit her or book a cruise.     

hammer

• Full Mayhemer
Re: The Art of Models Irene
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2016, 05:14:30 pm »

Well 74 members don't disagree with me.